Page 159

Appendix 1: Order of Battle of 5th Indian Division

(After reorganisation on 27 September 1940)

5th Indian Division (Maj. Gen. L. M. Heath, CB, CIE, DSO, MC).

9th Indian Infantry Brigade (Brig. A. G. O. M. Mayne, DSO).

2 West Yorks

3 Mahratta

3 Royal Frontier Force Regiment

10th Indian Infantry Brigade (Brig. W. J. Slim, MC)

1 Essex

4 Baluch

3 Royal Garhwal Rifles

29th Indian Infantry Brigade (Brig. J. C. O. Marriott, CVO, DSO, MC).

1 Worcesters

3/2 Punjab

6 Royal Frontier Force Rifles

Divisional Tps

25 Field Regiment RA

28 Field Regiment RA

20 Field Company RIE

2 Field Company RIE