Page 442

Page 443

Page 444

Appendix 7: Equipment and Location of British Fighter Squadrons, 9th July 1940

Squadron Equipment War Station
NO. 10 GROUP, RUDLOE, NR. BATH (Air Vice-Marshal Sir Quintin Brand)
Pembrey Sector
92 Spitfire Pembrey
Filton Sector
87 Hurricane Exeter
213 Hurricane Exeter
St. Eval Sector
234 Spitfire St. Eval
NO. 11 GROUP, UXBRIDGE (Air Vice-Marshal K. R. Park)
Middle Wallop Sector
609 (West Riding) Spitfire Middle Wallop
238 Hurricane Warmwell
501 (County of Gloucester) Hurricane Warmwell
Tangmere Sector
43 Hurricane Tangmere
145 Hurricane Tangmere
601 (County of London) Hurricane Tangmere
Kenley Sector
64 Spitfire Kenley
615 (Auxiliary) Hurricane Kenley
111 Hurricane Croydon
Biggin Hill Sector
32 Hurricane Biggin Hill
610 (County of Chester) Spitfire Biggin Hill
79 Hurricane Hawkinge
604 (County of Middlesex) Blenheim Gravesend
Hornchurch Sector
65 Spitfire Hornchurch
74 Spitfire Hornchurch
600 (City of London) Blenheim Manston
54 Spitfire Rochford
Northolt Sector
1 Hurricane Northolt
257 Hurricane Northolt
North Weald Sector
56 Hurricane North Weald
151 Hurricane North Weald
25 Blenheim Martlesham Heath
NO. 12 GROUP, WATNALL, NR. NOTTINGHAM (Air Vice-Marshal T. L. Leigh-Mallory)
Debden Sector
85 Hurricane Debden
17 Hurricane Debden
Duxford Sector
19 Spitfire Duxford
264 Defiant Duxford
Coltishall Sector
66 Spitfire Coltishall
242 Hurricane Coltishall
Wittering Sector
266 Spitfire Wittering
229 Hurricane Wittering
23 Blenheim Wittering
Digby Sector
611 (West Lancashire) Spitfire Digby
46 Hurricane Digby
29 Blenheim Digby
Kirton-in-Lindsey Sector
222 Spitfire Kirton-in-Lindsey
253 Hurricane Kirton-in-Lindsey
NO. 13 GROUP, NEWCASTLE-ON-TYNE (Air Vice-Marshal R. E. Saul)
Church Fenton Sector
73 Hurricane Church Fenton
616 (South Yorkshire) Spitfire Leconfield
249 Hurricane Leconfield
Catterick Sector
41 Spitfire Catterick
219 Blenheim Catterick
Usworth Sector
72 Spitfire Acklington
152 Spitfire Acklington
Turnhouse Sector
245 Hurricane Turnhouse
603 (City of Edinburgh) Spitfire Turnhouse and Montrose
I41 Defiant Turnhouse
602 (City of Glasgow) Spitfire Drem
605 (County of Warwick) Hurricane Drem
Wick Sector
3 Hurricane Wick
504 (County of Nottingham) Hurricane Wick
NON-OPERATIONAL SQUADRONS (Forming or re-equipping)
238 Hurricane Middle Wallop
1 (Royal Canadian Air Force) Hurricane Middle Wallop
607 (Auxiliary) Hurricane Usworth
263 Hurricane Grangemouth

NOTE: The normal establishment of a fighter squadron comprised 26 pilots, an initial equipment of sixteen aircraft, and a small immediate reserve (usually from three to five aircraft). When operating as a tactical formation a squadron flew normally at a strength of twelve aircraft. Alternatively a squadron might operate as two flights each of six aircraft, or as four sections each of three aircraft. As an emergency measure four aircraft were added to the establishment of each of 30 Hurricane and six Spitfire squadrons in the early summer of 1940. In theory this should have enabled each of the augmented squadrons to put an additional section into the air at moments of crisis; in practice their ability to do so was governed by the supply of pilots.