Page 367

Appendix 1: Members of the Air Council, 1942–43

Date of Appointment
Secretary of State for Air
The Rt. Hon. Sir Archibald Sinclair, Bart., KT, CMG, MP 11th May, 1940
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Air
Captain The Rt. Hon. H. H. Balfour, MC, MP 16th May, 1938
Lord Sherwood (Under-Secretary of State, House of Lords) 22nd July, 1941
Chief of the Air Staff
Air Chief Marshal Sir Charles F. A. Portal, GCB, DSO, MC 25th October, 1940
Air Member for Personnel
Air Marshal P. Babington CB, MC, AFC 1st December, 1940
Air Marshal Sir Bertine E. Sutton, KBE, CB, DSO, MC 17th August, 1942
Air Member for Supply and Organisation
Air Chief Marshal Sir Christopher L. Courtney, KCB, CBE, DSO 15th January, 1940
Air Member for Training
Air Marshal A. G. R. Garrod, CB, OBE, MC, DFC 8th July, 1940
Air Marshal Sir Peter R. M. Drummond, KCB, DSO, OBE, MC 27th April, 1943
Permanent Under-Secretary of State for Air
Sir Arthur W. Street, KCB, KBE, CMG, CIE, MC 1st June, 1939
Additional Members
Air Chief Marshal Sir Wilfrid R. Freeman, KCB, DSO, MC (Vice-Chief of the Air Staff) 5th November, 1940-18th October, 1942
Air Vice-Marshal C. E. H. Medhurst, CB, OBE, MC (Acting Vice-Chief of the Air Staff) 19th October, 1942-20th March, 1943
Air Marshal Sir Douglas C. S. Evill, KCB, DSC, AFC (Vice-Chief of the Air Staff) 21st March, 1943
Air Marshal F. J. Linnell, CB, OBE (Controller of Research and Development, Ministry of Aircraft Production) 5th June, 1941-19th April, 1943
Air Marshal R. S. Sorley, CB, OBE, DSC, DFC (Controller of Research and Development, Ministry of Aircraft Production) 20th April, 1943
Sir Harold G. Howitt, DSO, MC, FCA 18th September, 1939
Sir Henry Tizard, KCB, AFC, FRS June 1941-August 1943