Appendix I: Members of the Air Council, 1944–August 1945

Date of Appointment
Secretary of State for Air
The Rt. Hon. Sir Archibald Sinclair, Bart, KT, CMG, MP 11th May, 1940
The Rt. Hon. Harold Macmillan, MP 28th May, 1945
The Rt. Hon. Viscount Stansgate, DSO, DFC 3rd August, 1945
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Air
Captain The Rt. Hon. H. H. Balfour, MC, MP 16th May, 1938
Lord Sherwood (Under-Secretary of State, House of Lords) 22nd July, 1941
Commander R. A. Brabner, DSO, DSC, MP 22nd November, 1944
Earl Beatty, DSC (Under-Secretary of State, House of Lords) May, 1945
Major The Hon. Quintin Hogg, MP 13th April, 1945
E. J. St. L. Strachey, Esq., MP 6th August, 1945
Chief of the Air Staff
Marshal of the Royal Air Force The Lord Portal of Hungerford, GCB, DSO, MC 25th October, 1940
Air Member for Personnel
Air Marshal Sir Bertine E. Sutton, KBE, CB, DSO, MC 17th August, 1942
Air Marshal Sir John C. Slessor, KCB, DSO, MC 5th April, 1945
Air Member for Supply and Organisation
Air Chief Marshal Sir Christopher L. Courtney, GBE, KCB, DSO 15th January, 1940
Air Member for Training
Air Marshal Sir Peter R. M. Drummond, KCB, DSO, OBE, MC 27th April, 1943
Air Marshal Sir Roderic M. Hill, KCB, MC, AFC 14th May, 1945
Permanent Under-Secretary of State for Air
Sir Arthur W. Street, KCB, KBE, CMG, CIE, MC 1st June, 1939
Additional Members
Air Marshal Sir Douglas C. S. Evill, KCB, DSC, AFC (Vice-Chief of the Air Staff) 21st March, 1943
Air Marshal Sir Ralph S. Sorley, KCB, OBE, DSC, DFC (Controller of Research and Development, Ministry of Aircraft Production) 20th April, 1943
Sir Harold G. Howitt, DSO, MC, FCA September, 1939

Page 396